Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University has been named after one of the renowned political leaders and philosophers of Bangladesh – Mawlana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani. Today's MBSTU is the outcome of the dream which had been dreamt by him long ago. Mawlana Bhashani had the desire to establish a university that would build its students as independent, honest and hard working citizens. After waiting a long period of time the Prime Minister of The Peoples Republic of Bangladesh "Sheikh Hasina" founded the foundation-stone of MBSTU at Santosh, Tangail in 1999 and made the dream a reality. Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU) is an emerging institute in the arena of Science and Technology in Bangladesh. The Faculty of Life Science (LS) has started its journey at the very inception of MBSTU. This LS faculty aims to promote education, research and innovations in the field of Bio science and strengthen the capacity of students, researchers, academicians through six departments. The Departments namely, Environmental Science and Resource Management (ESRM), Criminology and Police Science (CPS), Food Technology and Nutritional Science (FTNS), Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering (BGE), Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (8MB) and Pharmacy under the Faculty of LS have their own excellence in the respective fields and disseminate the innovations through scientific papers, seminars, workshops regularly.